Just another WordPress.com site

Korea

This is my first blog, so I’m not quite sure how to begin or what to even write about. I’m not usually one to write these type of blogs, but I feel that it will be a good way to vent out some of my frustrations and anger. We’ll see. I’ve only been shooting with my Canon t1i for a few months now, but it has definitely helped keep me sane during these crazy times. I guess this could be considered a visual journal of my life in Korea. I hope you enjoy some of my pictures and logs, if not, that’s ok too.

One thing I love about Korea is its nightlife. There is something about all the lights, noise, and chaos that gives me a sense of serenity. Maybe I feel that it balances out the chaos in my life or, maybe, it’s just another way to distract myself from the real troubles of life. Whatever it is, I like it…

To the unfamiliar, Korea can seem very cluttered and hectic, but once you get used to it, it’s actually really convenient. Unlike the US, Korea is a small country so everything is stacked upwards to compensate for the lack of available land. People live in apartments rather than houses; grocery stores have multiple floors; bars, restaurants, shops, and business are all piled on top of each other. Pretty much you can get everything you need done at one general area and then have a few drinks after too. This picture was taken on a Tuesday just as the sun was beginning to set, but you can already see the streets filling up. Around 9 or 10 is when the streets really begin to fill up.

Even at night, it is never dark..

One of the first things you learn in Korea is that Koreans love to drink. Everywhere you go you will see bars. And bars on top of bars.


..and bars beneath bars.

Unfortunately, the only thing Koreans seem to drink is soju. Soju and beer. The beer here is almost as watered down as American beer.At least its cheap. I’ll say this time and time again, but damn, I miss my imported beers. I had a Heineken the other day. Cost me about $8 for a bottle. Best use of $8 all week.
 

2 responses

  1. Wow, this looks really good andrew!! Great start, keep on posting even the phone photos. Bars on top of bars hehe, pretty convenient.

    December 10, 2011 at 7:44 am

  2. Pingback: 11 Things Koreans Take For Granted That Make Foreigners Jealous - Tera News- breaking k-pop news, photos and viral videos

Leave a comment