Just another WordPress.com site

Street Food

Something you don’t get back in California are all the street food. The foods they sell on the streets, over here, taste better than most Korean Restaurants back in the states. And, it’s way cheaper.

Food carts aren’t available everywhere. Mostly in busy areas near markets, schools, are drinking areas. This picture was taken in front of Eeh-Deh, I’m not sure how to spell it in English, but that is how it would be pronounced. It’s in front of Eeh-Deh University, which is also a big market area that sells a bunch of clothes, shoes, and other stuff for real cheap. I got a Supreme backpack for $10 over there. I may post some of the pictures I took there later on, we’ll see. You can see some of them on my facebook.

Some of the most common food cart foods are fried foods. Each cart sells pretty much sells the same stuff for the same price. If the cart sells fried foods then you will most likely be able to choose from deep fried shrimp, jalepenos, potatoes, and other stuff..Most carts lets you choose 5 items for around $3.

Another common dish is ddeuckbokki. It’s like rice cakes mixed with vegetables and hot sauce. I rarely ever crave this dish normally, but when it’s becoming a ritual meal every time I drink. They usually sell this right in front of bar areas and its a good drunken munchies filler. This would be equivalent to my carne asada nachos back in California. A lot of people can’t eat a lot of this because they say it’s too spicy, but it doesn’t even tickle my spicy senses.

chicken skewers

Certain foods indicate certain seasons in Korea. The weather is beginning to get really cold over here. Snow will be upon us in a month or two. Cold weather means hot food carts will be out and about on a daily basis. This cart sells fish cakes or oh-deng, don’t know how to spell it in english. But, it is definitely one of my favorites during winter time because you can drink and unlimited amount of the hot broth. Best way to warm yourself up during the freezing cold.

One response

  1. Long Huynh

    I can see why you miss your typical burger or burrito back in the States, but with the cheap prices and a wide variety of Korean street food at the grasp of your hand, can you really complain? I’m almost drooling over here! Lol. I’d like to see what this spice hype of Korean food you speak of. I know you’ve called me out on hanging with spices but I think you’ve underestimated my fondness for spicy foods. Once you’re back let’s hit up a legit Thai or Korean joint pledgebro. It’d be my honor to out-spice you under the table, nahmean? Haha jk. Anyways, great job capturing the daily street life in Korea man. It alllmooostt motivates me to pick up my camera and finish some of these shoot ideas I’ve had stored. Maybee… Lol. Take care and keep updating Choi. We’re reading.

    November 12, 2011 at 3:20 am

Leave a comment